What is dashboard sharing
Within Analytics, dashboards created in a license can only be accessed by users within that same license.
You can make dashboards available for viewing by any other Searchmetrics user by sharing them.
When you share a dashboard, the people you share it with can view it and interact with it, but can't edit it.
How to share a dashboard
A dashboard can only be shared from the account in which the dashboard was created.
Dashboards can be shared from the Analytics' Dashboards Overview page or from the dashboard view.
Once the Share Dashboard button is clicked, a pop-up will appear. Here, we can type the e-mail addresses of up to 10 Searchmetrics users that we would like to share the dashboard with. Users within the current account can be chosen from a dropdown and searched for based on name or e-mail address.
When attempting to share to an email address that is not a registered user of Searchmetrics:
- no dashboard sharing will take place
- no notification e-mail will be sent out
If you need to add an additional user to your account, please contact your dedicated CSM.
Once we click the Send button:
- If sharing was successful:
- a success notification appears signaling that the dashboard was shared with at least one of the users specified
- then an e-mail with below format is sent to the recipient(s). The language of the e-mail is determined by the Suite language settings of the sender.
If sharing was unsuccessful:
- an error notification appears signaling that the dashboard was shared with none of the users specified
Currently, dashboards using the Historic Keyword Rankings data source cannot be shared. This restriction is expected to be lifted in future versions.
How to stop sharing a dashboard
Currently, to stop sharing a particular dashboard, you would need to delete it. This will remove access to everyone you shared it with. It is also not possible to remove individual users with whom the dashboard is shared.
How to view shared dashboards
Shared dashboards are listed on the Analytics' Dashboard Overview page like any other dashboard. If a dashboard has been shared with you, it will display an icon next to it to indicate this.
It is only possible to view and export dashboards that have been shared with you. When clicking on the three-dot menu, we can see that the edit, delete, and share options are disabled.
If we are in the sharer’s license, the dashboard that has been shared will not display an icon next to it.
On the dashboard view we can see that shared dashboards can be refreshed and exported but not shared, edited, or saved under a different name.
When a Dashboard Owner modifies a dashboard it is not automatically updated for Shared Users. Shared Users must refresh the shared dashboard before any of the Dashboard Owner’s changes are visible.